Subcommittee on Organizational Management

The Organizational Management Subcommittee resides under and is governed by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Committee on Performance-Based Management (CPBM).  The focus of this subcommittee is on the development and implementation of organizational performance management processes, measures, improvement frameworks and strategies, in order to optimize the efficiency and effectiveness of an agency.

Download more information on all subcommittee meetings here. Additionally, for those that missed the September 3rd Joint AASHTO CPBM/TPM Pooled Fund Quarterly Meeting, click here to download video and slides of the meeting.


Co-chair: Deanna Belden, Director of Performance, Risk & Investment Analysis, Office of Transportation System Management, MnDOT
Co-chair: Charlie Purcell, Project Delivery Division Director, Iowa DOT
Secretary: Stacey Huston, Secretary 2, Iowa DOT
AASHTO Liaison: Matt Hardy, Program Director for Planning and Performance Management
FHWA Liaison: Nelson Hoffman, Transportation Performance Management Program Manager


Help agencies achieve organizational excellence and advance the practice of performance excellence by identifying, analyzing and sharing information to improve organizational performance at the strategic, tactical and operational levels of the organization.


  • Assist agencies to achieve strategic goals and improve performance in the most effective and efficient way.
  • Examine and share effective organizational models, leadership structures and competencies used to monitor, respond to and implement organizational improvement.
  • Provide agencies with best practices in the application of process/quality improvement tools and methodologies

Leadership and Membership

  • The subcommittee will be lead by a chair or co-chairs, as selected by CPBM committee chair.
  • Membership of the subcommittee shall be governed by the CPBM charter.

Work Plan

  • The subcommittee chair or co-chairs, with input from the subcommittee members, will develop and update an annual work plan to guide the subcommittee’s activities.
  • The work plan shall be approved by the CPBM committee chair.
  • The subcommittee chair or co-chairs shall be responsible for monitoring and regularly reporting on the status of the work plan.

Active participation is critical for our subcommittee to be successful in its mission, and that means we need you to be involved!  There are many different ways you can be involved, including:

  • Participate in our monthly subcommittee web conferences. Join in the conversation.  Offer your insight and perspectives.  Learn from others.
  • Attend our annual or mid-year subcommittee meetings, usually held in conjunction with an AAHSTO or TRB conference.
  • Assist with or lead one of the subcommittee activities, as outlined in our Work Plan.

December 2020

November 2020

October 2020

September 2020

August 2020

July 2020

June 2020

May 2020

April 2020

March 2020

February 2020

January 2020

Current Membership

First Name Last Name Email Address Agency Name Designation Member Type
Brad Allen Applied Pavement Technologies Other
Gina Baas Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota Other
Victoria Beale Ohio DOT Member
Deanna Belden Minnesota DOT Co-chair
Nigel Blampied Univsersity of California, Berkley Other
Charlie Brown South Carolina DOT Member
Michael Bufalino Oregon DOT Member
Kristi Cheadle Michigan DOT Member
Patrick Cowley Utah DOT Member
Craig Crick Nevada DOT Member
Ravi Ganvir District of Columbia Other
Jayna Guilford Vermont DOT Member
Matt Hardy AASHTO AASHTO Liaison
Shante Hastings Deleware DOT Member
Nelson Hoffman FHWA FHWA Liaison
Michael Hopkins Georgia DOT Member
Ryan Huff Nebraska DOT Member
Stacey Huston Iowa DOT Secretary
Jessica Klein Texas DOT Member
Alexis Kuklenski FHWA Other
Nathan Lee Utah DOT Member
Mike Lozier Vermont DOT Member
Michelle Malloy Colorado DOT Member
Kent Marquardt Texas DOT Member
David McMillan Texas DOT Member
Karen Miller Missouri DOT Member
Lisa Penny North Carolina DOT Member
Charlie Purcell Iowa DOT Co-chair
David Putz Iowa DOT Member
Lori Richter Spy Pond Partners Other
Simona Shapiro NYC DOT Other
Jason Siwula Kentucky DOT Member
Jack Smith North Dakota DOT Member
Linsey Sousek Nebraska DOT Member
Alana Spendlove Utah DOT Member
Peter Stephanos FHWA Other
Dawn Sullivan Oklahoma DOT Member
Margaret Taylor Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Other
Kelly Travelbee Michigan DOT Member
Michelle Tucker California DOT Member
Gary Vansuch Colorado DOT Member
Roger Weld NYC DOT Other
Richard Woo Maryland DOT Member
Christos Xenophontos Rhode Island DOT Member
Christopher Young Texas DOT Member