Subcommittee on Organizational Management

The Organizational Management Subcommittee resides under and is governed by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Committee on Performance-Based Management (CPBM).  The focus of this subcommittee is on the development and implementation of organizational performance management processes, measures, improvement frameworks and strategies, in order to optimize the efficiency and effectiveness of an agency.

Download more information on all subcommittee meetings here. Additionally, for those that missed the September 3rd Joint AASHTO CPBM/TPM Pooled Fund Quarterly Meeting, click here to download video and slides of the meeting.

Leadership

Co-chair: Deanna Belden, Director of Performance, Risk & Investment Analysis, Office of Transportation System Management, MnDOT
Co-chair: Charlie Purcell, Project Delivery Division Director, Iowa DOT
Secretary: Stacey Huston, Secretary 2, Iowa DOT
AASHTO Liaison: Matt Hardy, Program Director for Planning and Performance Management
FHWA Liaison: Nelson Hoffman, Transportation Performance Management Program Manager

Mission

Help agencies achieve organizational excellence and advance the practice of performance excellence by identifying, analyzing and sharing information to improve organizational performance at the strategic, tactical and operational levels of the organization.

Goals

  • Assist agencies to achieve strategic goals and improve performance in the most effective and efficient way.
  • Examine and share effective organizational models, leadership structures and competencies used to monitor, respond to and implement organizational improvement.
  • Provide agencies with best practices in the application of process/quality improvement tools and methodologies

Leadership and Membership

  • The subcommittee will be lead by a chair or co-chairs, as selected by CPBM committee chair.
  • Membership of the subcommittee shall be governed by the CPBM charter.

Work Plan

  • The subcommittee chair or co-chairs, with input from the subcommittee members, will develop and update an annual work plan to guide the subcommittee’s activities.
  • The work plan shall be approved by the CPBM committee chair.
  • The subcommittee chair or co-chairs shall be responsible for monitoring and regularly reporting on the status of the work plan.

Active participation is critical for our subcommittee to be successful in its mission, and that means we need you to be involved!  There are many different ways you can be involved, including:

  • Participate in our monthly subcommittee web conferences. Join in the conversation.  Offer your insight and perspectives.  Learn from others.
  • Attend our annual or mid-year subcommittee meetings, usually held in conjunction with an AAHSTO or TRB conference.
  • Assist with or lead one of the subcommittee activities, as outlined in our Work Plan.

September 2020

August 2020

July 2020

June 2020

May 2020

April 2020

March 2020

February 2020

January 2020

Current Membership

First Name Last Name Email Address Agency Name Designation Member Type
Brad Allen ballen@appliedpavement.com Applied Pavement Technologies Other
Gina Baas baasx001@umn.edu Center for Transportation Studies, University of Minnesota Other
Victoria Beale Victoria.Beale@dot.ohio.gov Ohio DOT Member
Deanna Belden Deanna.Belden@state.mn.us Minnesota DOT Co-chair
Nigel Blampied blampied@berkeley.edu Univsersity of California, Berkley Other
Charlie Brown brownch@scdot.org South Carolina DOT Member
Michael Bufalino Michael.BUFALINO@odot.state.or.us Oregon DOT Member
Kristi Cheadle CheadleK@michigan.gov Michigan DOT Member
Patrick Cowley patrickcowley@utah.gov Utah DOT Member
Craig Crick ccrick@dot.nv.gov Nevada DOT Member
Ravi Ganvir ravindra.ganvir@dc.gov District of Columbia Other
Jayna Guilford Jayna.Guilford@vermont.gov Vermont DOT Member
Matt Hardy Mhardy@aashto.org AASHTO AASHTO Liaison
Shante Hastings shante.hastings@state.de.us Deleware DOT Member
Nelson Hoffman nelson.hoffman@dot.gov FHWA FHWA Liaison
Michael Hopkins Mhopkins@dot.ga.gov Georgia DOT Member
Ryan Huff ryan.huff@nebraska.gov Nebraska DOT Member
Stacey Huston stacey.huston@iowadot.us Iowa DOT Secretary
Jessica Klein jessica.klein@txdot.gov Texas DOT Member
Alexis Kuklenski alexis.kuklenski@dot.gov FHWA Other
Nathan Lee nlee@utah.gov Utah DOT Member
Mike Lozier mike.lozier@vermont.gov Vermont DOT Member
Michelle Malloy Michelle.Malloy@state.co.us Colorado DOT Member
Kent Marquardt Kent.Marquardt@txdot.gov Texas DOT Member
David McMillan David.McMillan@txdot.gov Texas DOT Member
Karen Miller Karen.Miller@modot.mo.gov Missouri DOT Member
Lisa Penny lepenny@ncdot.gov North Carolina DOT Member
Charlie Purcell Charlie.Purcell@iowadot.us Iowa DOT Co-chair
David Putz David.Putz@iowadot.us Iowa DOT Member
Lori Richter lrichter@spypondpartners.com Spy Pond Partners Other
Simona Shapiro sshapiro@dot.nyc.gov NYC DOT Other
Jason Siwula Jason.Siwula@ky.gov Kentucky DOT Member
Jack Smith JaSmith@nd.gov North Dakota DOT Member
Linsey Sousek linsey.sousek@nebraska.gov Nebraska DOT Member
Alana Spendlove aspendlove@utah.gov Utah DOT Member
Peter Stephanos Peter.Stephanos@dot.gov FHWA Other
Dawn Sullivan dsullivan@odot.org Oklahoma DOT Member
Margaret Taylor mtaylor@lbl.gov Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Other
Kelly Travelbee Travelbeek@michigan.gov Michigan DOT Member
Michelle Tucker michelle.tucker@dot.ca.gov California DOT Member
Gary Vansuch Gary.Vansuch@state.co.us Colorado DOT Member
Roger Weld rweld@dot.nyc.gov NYC DOT Other
Richard Woo Rwoo@sha.state.md.us Maryland DOT Member
Christos Xenophontos christos.xenophontos@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island DOT Member
Christopher Young cyoung1@txdot.gov Texas DOT Member

Documents