AASHTO Subcommittee on Asset Management

Transportation Asset Management is a strategic and systematic process of operating, maintaining, upgrading, and expanding physical assets effectively throughout their lifecycle. It focuses on business and engineering practices for resource allocation and utilization, with the objective of better decision making based upon quality information and well-defined objectives.

Mission & Vision
How Do I Participate?
Meetings & Events


Advance the State-of-the-Practice of Transportation Asset Management.


Transportation Asset Management is the standard of practice for state DOTs and others to manage the nation’s physical transportation assets to optimize investment decisions.

The mission of the CPBM Subcommittee on Asset Management is to help improve the state-of-the-practice of asset management in State transportation departments. The Subcommittee works to help states optimize resources by utilizing performance-based goals and measures for operation, preservation, and improvement of their transportation systems.

The subcommittee provides information about the development of asset management tools, analysis methods, and research; communicates with AASHTO member States on how to utilize asset management; assists member states in implementing asset management principles; documents how asset management is being used and can be used in the future; and develops partnerships with public and private entities having an interest in and commitment to asset management.

The Subcommittee on Asset Management leadership includes a chair from the Standing Committee on Planning, a vice chair from the Standing Committee on Highways, and a secretary from the Federal Highway Administration. Subcommittee on Asset Management membership includes eight representatives from the Standing Committee on Planning (two per AASHTO region), and eight representatives from the Standing Committee on Highways (two per AASHTO region). In addition, membership includes one member each from the Administrative Subcommittee on Transportation Finance, the Standing Committee on Public Transportation, and the Standing Committee on Rail Transportation.

Click here to see a calendar that includes listings for meetings, webinars, and peer exchanges pertaining to the Subcommittee on Asset Management.


Chair: Matt Haubrich, Iowa DOT
Secretary: Stephen Gaj, FHWA
Liaison: Matthew Hardy, AASHTO

Upcoming Subcommittee Events

Past Subcommittee Events

First Name
Last Name
No items found

Connected Resources

No items found

Your Community’s Resources

No items found
Add New Resource

This section is for committee admins to access and edit their pages. If you think you should be an admin, or if you need assistance recovering your password, then please click here to send us an email.