AASHTO Committee on Performance-Based Management

The Committee on Performance-Based Management addresses all aspects of performance management including asset, organizational, risk, and system performance management as it relates to federal regulations, current industry practices, and emerging approaches and concepts.

Download more information on all subcommittee meetings here. Additionally, for those that missed the June 4th Joint AASHTO CPBM/TPM Pooled Fund Quarterly Meeting, click here to download the agenda and slides.

Charge

Chair: Tim Henkel, Minnesota DOT
Vice Chair: Christos Xenophontos, Rhode Island DOT
Secretary: Karen Miller, Missouri DOT
Liaison: Matt Hardy, AASHTO

The Committee on Performance-Based Management is dedicated to providing STAs the expertise and resources to support and help enhance performance and data-driven management practices and decision making and to create a results-driven environment that will promote organizational and system excellence. The Committee on Performance Based-Management will provide and communicate technical services and information; develop policy guidance and recommendations; facilitate communication practices; and support the professional development and capacity building of its members and others.

The committee shall be structured in a way to do the following:

  1. Focus on how organizations make strategic decisions to deliver the transportation program to the public by examining how transportation organizations link these strategies with work systems and key processes and align resources to:
    1. improve project and program delivery;
    2. demonstrate progress toward desired performance targets such as safety, system capacity, congestion/freight movement, physical assets and other areas for all modes; and
    3. deploy management strategies.
  2. Support STAs in how they improve the state of the practice in the deployment and usage of asset, organizational, risk, and system management tools, data collection, analysis techniques, and methods to assist in implementing management practices.
  3. Assess the use of measurement and assessment to facilitate communication that increases transparency, accountability and enhances results.
  4. Support members through the development of comparative information about organizational and systems management practices in established and emerging areas to facilitate shared learning and improve performance.
  5. Explore national and international trends, successful practices, and research related to performance-based management in order to support the Board of Directors in influencing the development of federal policy, programs, regulations, and guidance.
  6. Provide information and recommendations of how agencies best organize themselves and current performance management best practices (e.g., ISO, Lean, Six Sigma, etc.).

CPBM Quarterly Meetings

2020


2019


2018


2017

Current Membership

First Name Last Name Email Address Agency Name Designation Member Type
Bob Aiyuk paiyuk@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Imad Aleithawe aaleithawe@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nick Alexander nicholas.alexander@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Chad Allen chad.allen@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Edward Austin austine@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Rachel Bain Rachel.Bain@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mike Behm michael.behm@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Deanna Belden deanna.belden@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Andy Bickmore andrew.bickmore@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Edgardo Block edgardo.block@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Daniela Bremmer bremmed@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jennifer Brickett jbrickett@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
Russell Burgess burgesr@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
William Cass William.Cass@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jason Champman Jason.Chapman@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Alex Clegg aclegg@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
Regina Colson regina.colson@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Brian Davis davisb@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mark Davis mark.davis1@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Paul Degges Paul.Degges@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Stephanie Dock stephanie.dock@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Shannon Eggleston seggleston@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
Gehan Elsayed gehan.m.elsayed@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jim Feda fedajj@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lori Fisette lori.fisette@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Keith Fulton Keith.Fulton@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sreenath Gangula ganguls@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Robert Gebhardt rob.gebhardt@state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
REBECCA GEYER rgeyer@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mark Gieseke mark.gieseke@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Giles Giovinazzi giles.giovinazzi@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Angel Gonzalez aagonzalez@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Joseph Gustin JGUSTIN@indot.IN.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Tamara Haas tamarap.haas@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mike Haley mhaley@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Matthew Hardy mhardy@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison None
Shanté Hastings shante.hastings@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jerry Hatcher Jerry.Hatcher@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
TIm Henkel tim.henkel@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Mike Hill mike.hill@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Michael Hopkins mhopkins@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ryan Huff ryan.huff@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Voting
Chris Hundt hundtc@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jacquelyn Irving jacquelynm.irving@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Moe Jamshidi Moe.Jamshidi@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Michael Johnson michael_b_Johnson@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Paul Johnson paujohnson@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Tim Johnson timojohnso@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
William Johnson will.johnson@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jessie Jones Jessie.Jones@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Phil Kase Philip.J.KASE@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Barry Keeling Barry.Keeling@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Megan Kenney mkenney@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
Martin Kidner martin.kidner@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Colleen Kissane colleen.kissane@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tracy Larkin tlarkin@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nathan Lee nlee@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mark Leiferman mark.leiferman@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Subrat Mahapatra smahapatra@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wolde Makonen wolde.makonnen@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kent Marquardt kent.marquardt@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shane Marshall smarshall@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Garrett Mason GMason2@indot.IN.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Joanne Maxwell joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Pamela May Pamela.May@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Charlene McArthur Charlene.McArthur@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
James McCaleb brad.mccaleb@ardot.gov Arkansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tim McDonald tim.mcdonald@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Russell McMurry rmcmurry@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lance Mearig lance.mearig@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Ehren Meister emeister@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Harlan Miller harlan.miller@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
Karen Miller Karen.Miller@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Secretary Voting
Patsy Mimms Patsy.Mimms@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Garrett Moore garrett.moore@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
John Moore johnw.moore@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Matt Moore matthew.moore@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
John (Jack) Moran john.m.moran@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Carolyn Morehouse carolyn.morehouse@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Heather Murphy hmurphy@mdot.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Patrick Norman pnorman@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Tonia Norman tonia.norman@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Holly Ostdick holly.ostdick@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Billy Owen bowen@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Cindy Owings cindy.owings@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Garrett Pedersen garrett.pedersen@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Debra Perkins-Smith DEBRA.PERKINS-SMITH@STATE.CO.US Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tom Prestash tprestash@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Charlie Purcell charlie.purcell@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Virginia Reeder virginia.reeder@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jim Ritzman jritzman@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
John Roberts jroberts@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Geoffrey Rodrigue geoffrey.rodrigue@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Sondra Rosenberg srosenberg@dot.nv.gov Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mike Russo mike.russo@dot.state.nj.us New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Voting
Melissa Savage msavage@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials AASHTO Staff None
David Schwartz david.schwartz@ks.gov Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Joe Segale Joe.Segale@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
John Selmer john.selmer@iowadot.us Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mike Servetas michael.servetas@dot.nh.gov New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Laura Shanley Laura.Shanley@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Justin Shell JustinR.Shell@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kevin Simpson kevin.simpson@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sonja Simpson Sonja.Simpson@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jason Siwula jason.siwula@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Jim Skinner jskinner@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jack Smith jasmith@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Craig Smith craig.smith@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Peter Smith Peter.Smith@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Peter Stephanos peter.stephanos@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
Scott Stokes scott.stokes@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Voting
Jay Styles Jay.Styles@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Matt Swift mswift@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Aileen Switzer aileen.switzer@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Andrew Swords andrew.swords@dot.state.nj.us New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mick Syslo Mick.Syslo@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Burt Tasaico HTasaico@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
John Thomas john.pthomas@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Blair Thompson blair.thompson@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kelly Travelbee travelbeek@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
William Varney william.h.varney@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kevin Viani kevin.viani@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Joshua Waller jwaller@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Machelle Watkins machelle.watkins@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Brad Wieferich wieferichb@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jon Wilcoxson Jon.Wilcoxson@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Andrew Williams Andrew.Williams@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Christos Xenophontos christos.xenophontos@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Ben Yates yatesb@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Scott Zainhofsky szainhofsky@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting

Documents

  • Insert document(s) here