AASHTO CPBM/TPM TSP Joint Quarterly Meeting – Q2 2024

AASHTO CPBM/TPM TSP Joint Quarterly Meeting – Q2 2024

This meeting’s feature topic was “AASHTO Safety Action Plan & Implementing Safety Performance Strategies.”

Christos Xenophontos from the Rhode Island DOT kicked off this quarterly meeting with a welcome and agenda overview. Then we heard updates from Anna McLaughlin from AASHTO and Mshadoni Smith-Jackson from FHWA.

Next, a representative from AASHTO provided an overview and status of the AASHTO Safety Action Plan, which aims to share innovative tools, best practices, policies, and resources among states to consistently incorporate safety into program, project, and data-driven decisions.

Then Jonathan Nelson from Missouri DOT talked about the agency’s SAFER Program. MoDOT can influence crash outcomes by designing roadways and implementing safety features to prevent crashes or minimize their consequences. Engineering solutions are a key part of the safe system approach to eliminate traffic fatalities.

The session wrapped with updates from the following CPBM groups: Policy & Rulemaking Work Group, Research Work Group, Task Force on Emerging Performance Areas, Subcommittee on Organizational Management, Subcommittee on Risk Management, and Subcommittee on Asset Management.